History

The LIUM (Laboratoire d'Informatique de l'Université du Mans) was established about 30 years ago. It gathers most of researchers in computer science at Le Mans University and is located on two sites: the IC2 building in Le Mans and the IUT buildings in Laval. Since its creation, LIUM's main research themes have been Technology-Enhanced Learning (TEL) and Language and Speech Technology (LST).

LIUM in numbers

60 people among which:
- 28 Academic staff
- 26 Contract researchers and PhD students
- 4 Support staff

Partnerships: researchers cooperate actively with other French, European and international laboratories. LIUM has also formed industrial partnerships with Airbus, Orange Lab, Voxolab, OpenClassrooms, Symmetric/SBT, 44screens.
- Member of the NUMERIC department of the UBL
- Member of Atlanstic 2020 (grouping of digital science players in the Pays de la Loire region)
- Member of the Claude Chappe Institute

- CPU and GPU computing cluster (1000 CPU cores, 60 GPUs)
- Experimental room for research work in IT environment for Human Learning (audio and video recording)
- Software and corpus: SideKit/s4d, TEDLium, nmtpy, JemInventor, Moggle, Hop3X, UTL, Legadee, TraVis

Highlights

Production, protection and distribution of software and resources

LIUM produces a remarkable number of softwares related to its research activities. This includes the Hop3x environment, which is a IT environment for Human Learning dedicated to programming learning at Le Mans University, the creation of an integrated development environment dedicated to UTL (Usage Tracking Language), Sidekit/s4d toolkits for speaker recognition, and linguistic resources such as the TED-LIUM corpus. Most of these tools are distributed under open license.

Excellent results in international evaluation campaigns

LIUM regularly takes part in international evaluation campaigns in speech and speaker recognition and machine translation. The results rank LIUM among the academic labs that best master these technologies worldwide.

Some results:

  • Speech transcription: 1st at REPERE 2013 (French), 1st to IWSLT 2014 (Italian) and 2015 (German), 2nd at MGB 2015 (English) and 2017 (Arabic)
  • Text translation: 1st multimodal translation at IWSLT 2017
  • Speaker segmentation and clustering: 2nd at MGB 2016, 1st at MediaEval 2015 and 2016

CERIUM2

The TEL team owns a research platform in Laval (financed by the Laval agglomeration and FEDER funds) with a surface area of 146m2 including an experimental room of 53m2. This room can accommodate 18 learners and one teacher. The adjoining office is used to simulate distance learning and make observations of instrumented pedagogical situations.

Start-up

 Voxolab is a company co-founded by LIUM lecturers in 2014. It is a company specialized in the field of speech processing.

Historique

Le Laboratoire d’Informatique de l’Université du Mans (LIUM) a été créé il y a environ 30 ans. Il comprend la grande majorité des enseignants-chercheurs en informatique de Le Mans Université et est localisé sur deux sites : le site du Mans dans le bâtiment IC2, et le site de Laval dans les bâtiments de l’IUT. Depuis sa création, les thèmes de recherche majeurs du LIUM sont l’Ingénierie des Environnements Informatiques pour l’Apprentissage Humain (IEIAH) et le traitement automatique de la parole (LST).

Le LIUM en Chiffre

60 personnes dont :
- 28 enseignants-chercheurs
- 26 doctorants et post-doctorant
- 4 personnels administratifs et techniques

Partenariats : Les chercheurs et enseignants-chercheurs coopérent activement avec d’autres laboratoires français, européens et internationaux. Le LIUM a également noué des partenariats industriels avec Airbus, Orange Lab, Voxolab, OpenClassrooms, Symmetric/SBT, 44screens.
- Membre du département NUMERIC de l'UBL
- Membre d'Atlanstic 2020 (regroupement des acteurs en sciences du numériques dans la région des Pays de La Loire)
- Membre de l'Institut Claude Chappe

- Cluster de calcul CPU et GPU (1000 coeurs CPU, 60 GPU)
- Salle d'expérimentation pour les travaux de recherche en EIAH (enregistrement audio et vidéo)
- Logiciels et corpus : SideKit/s4d, TEDLium, JemInventor, ReVeRIES, Hop3X, UTL, Legadee, TraVis

Faits marquants

Production, protection et distribution de logiciels et de ressources

Le LIUM produit un nombre remarquable de logiciels liés à ses activités de recherche. On peut entre autre citer l’environnement Hop3x, qui est un EIAH dédié à l’apprentissage de la programmation déployé au sein de l’Université du Maine, la création d’un environnement de développement intégré dédié au langage UTL (Usage Tracking Language, les toolkits Sidekit/s4d pour le traitements des locuteurs, ou encore des ressources linguistiques comme le corpus TED-LIUM. La plus part des ces outils sont distribués sous licence libre.

Excellents résultats dans des campagnes d’évaluations internationales

Le LIUM a participé de manière régulière à des campagnes d’évaluation internationales en traitement de la parole, reconnaissance du locuteur et traduction automatique. Les résultats positionne le LIUM parmi les laboratoires universitaires qui maîtrisent le mieux ces technologies au niveau mondial.

Quelques résultats :

  • Transcription de la parole : 1er à REPERE 2013 (français), 1er à IWSLT 2014 (italien) et 2015 (allemand), 2e à MGB 2015 (anglais) et 2017 (arabe) 1st at REPERE 2013 (French), 1st to IWSLT 2014 (Italian) and 2015 (German), 2nd at MGB 2015 (English) and 2017 (Arabic)
  • Traduction de texte : 1er multimodal translation à IWSLT 2017
  • Segmentation et regroupement en locuteur : 2e à MGB 2016, 1er à MediaEval 2015 et 2016

CERIUM2

L’équipe IEIAH dispose d’un plateau recherche à Laval (financé par l’agglomération lavalloise et des fonds FEDER) d'une superficie de 146m2 dont une salle d’expérimentation de 53m2. Cette salle peut accueillir 18 apprenants et un enseignant. Le bureau attenant permet de simuler une formation à distance et d’effectuer des observations de situations pédagogiques instrumentées.

Start-up

 Voxolab est une entreprises cofondées par des enseignants-chercheurs du LIUM en 2014. Il s’agit d’une entreprise spécialisée dans le domaine du traitement de la parole .