DEEP-PRIVACY

Date: 01/2019 - 12/2021
Funding: ANR
Call: generic
Partners: Multispeech (France), LIA (France), Magnet (France)
URL: https://lium.univ-lemans.fr/en/deep-privacy/


DEEP-PRIVACY proposes a new paradigm based on a distributed, personalized, and privacy-preserving approach for speech processing, with a focus on machine learning algorithms for speech recognition. To this end, we propose to rely on a hybrid approach: the device of each user does not share its raw speech data and runs some private computations locally, while some cross-user computations are done by communicating through a server (or a peer-to-peer network). To satisfy privacy requirements at the acoustic level, the information communicated to the server should not expose sensitive speaker information. The project addresses the above challenges from the theoretical, methodological and empirical standpoints through two major scientific objectives.

The first objective is to learn privacy-preserving representations of the speech signal, that disentangle features exposing private information, to be kept on the user’s device (speaker- specific information) from generic features useful for the task of interest, to be shared with servers (phonetic / linguistic information).

The second objective concerns distributed algorithms and personalization, through the design of efficient distributed algorithms which operate under the setting where sensitive user data is kept on-device, with global components running on servers and personalized components running on personal devices.

DEEP-PRIVACY

Date : 01/2019 - 12/2021
Financement : ANR
Appel : generic
Partenaires : Multispeech (France), LIA (France), Magnet (France)
URL : https://lium.univ-lemans.fr/deep-privacy/


DEEP-PRIVACY propose un nouveau paradigme basé sur une approche distribuée, personnalisée et respectueuse de la vie privée pour le traitement de la parole, se focalisant sur les algorithmes d’apprentissage automatique pour la reconnaissance de la parole. Pour ce faire, nous proposons une approche hybride dans laquelle l’appareil de chaque utilisateur ne partage pas ses données vocales brutes et exécute certains calculs privés en local, tandis que certains calculs mutualisés entre utilisateurs se font via un serveur (ou un réseau peer-to-peer). Pour satisfaire aux exigences de confidentialité au niveau acoustique, les données communiquées au serveur ne doivent pas fournir d’informations sensibles sur les locuteurs. Le projet aborde ces défis d’un point de vue théorique, méthodologique et empirique à travers deux objectifs scientifiques majeurs.

Le premier objectif est d’apprendre les représentations du signal vocal respectueuses de la vie privée, qui distinguent les caractéristiques dévoilant des informations privées, donc à conserver sur l’appareil de l’utilisateur (informations spécifiques au locuteur) des caractéristiques génériques utiles pour la tâche d’intérêt, à partager avec des serveurs (informations phonétiques / linguistiques).

Le deuxième objectif concerne les algorithmes distribués et la personnalisation, à travers la conception d’algorithmes distribués efficaces qui fonctionnent dans un environnement où les données sensibles des utilisateurs sont conservées sur le périphérique, avec des composants globaux fonctionnant sur des serveurs et des composants personnalisés fonctionnant sur des périphériques personnels.