Gender Equality Monitor (GEM)

Date: 01/2020 - 06/2023
Funding: ANR
Call: AAPG2019
Partners: INA, LIMSI, Carism, Deezer, LERASS, ENS Lyon
URL: https://lium.univ-lemans.fr/en/gem/


Media and society have an intricate relationship. Descriptive, the media are also prescriptive and shape our perception of the world. The GEM project aims to describe the differences in representation and treatment between women and men in the media, based on the automatic analysis of large volumes of data in French contained in the INA and Deezer collections: TV, radio, print media and music collections.

The ambition of this project is to conduct the largest study ever carried out on the place of men and women in the media, based on the analysis of several million documents sampled over a period of more than 80 years. This study is made possible by the extensive collections of audiovisual documents held by INA and Deezer, as well as by recent advances in ICST: speech processing, artificial vision, automatic language processing. The completion of this study requires the definition of a set of indicators representing differences in treatment and representation, the implementation of a technological basis for automatically estimating these indicators and, finally, the questioning of the reception and contextualization of the analyses carried out using qualitative approaches.

This large-scale quantitative approach aims to create new knowledge in the human sciences, to assess the evolution of differences in the representation of women and men over time and between different types of materials, in order to objectify some of the citizen debates on gender equality in the media. This automatic description of men and women representation responds to societal as well as industrial challenges: estimating the impact of actions aimed at a more equitable representation of the sexes in the programmes broadcast, exploring and enhancing large digital collections, improving the performance of automatic systems and studying borderline cases. The extraction of indicators of gender difference in treatment requires the removal of technological and methodological obstacles, contributing to advances in the state of the art in ICST and SHS.

Gender Equality Monitor (GEM)

Date : 01/2020 - 06/2023
Financement : ANR
Appel : AAPG2019
Partenaires : INA, LIMSI, Carism, Deezer, LERASS, ENS Lyon
URL : https://lium.univ-lemans.fr/gem/


Médias et société entretiennent des rapports complexes. Descriptifs, les médias sont également prescriptifs et contribuent à façonner notre représentation du monde. Le projet GEM vise à décrire les différences de représentation et de traitement existant entre les femmes et les hommes dans les médias, en se fondantsur l’analyse automatique de gros volumes de données en langue française contenus dans les collections de l’INA et de Deezer : TV, radio, presse écrite et collections musicales.

L’ambition de ce projet est d’accomplir la plus vaste étude sur la place des hommes et des femmes dans les médias jamais réalisée, fondée sur l’analyse de plusieurs millions de documents échantillonnés sur une période de plus de 80 ans. La réalisation de cette étude est rendue possible par l’exploitation des vastes collections de documents audiovisuels détenus par l’INA et Deezer, ainsi que par les récentes avancées en STIC : traitement de la parole, vision artificielle, traitement automatique du langage. La réalisation de cette étude requiert de définir un ensemble ’indicateurs représentatifs des différences de traitement et de représentation, de mettre en oeuvre un socle technologique permettant d’estimer ces indicateurs automatiquement et, finalement, d’interroger la réception et contextualiser les analyses réalisées à l’aide d’approches qualitatives.

Cette approche quantitative massive vise à créer de nouvelles connaissances en sciences humaines, apprécier l’évolution des différences de représentation des femmes et des hommes dans le temps et entre les différents types de matériaux, pour objectiver une partie des débats citoyens sur l’égalité entre les sexes dans les médias. Cette description automatique de la représentation des hommes et des femmes répond à des enjeux sociétaux, mais aussi industriels : estimation de l’impact des actions visant à une plus juste représentation des sexes dans les programmes diffusés, exploration et valorisation de vastes collections numériques, amélioration des performances des systèmes automatiques et étude des cas limites. L’extraction des indicateurs de différence de traitement entre les sexes nécessite de lever des verrous technologiques et méthodologiques, contribuant à des avancées de l’état de l’art en STIC et SHS.