The LIUM at the European Researchers’ Night

Date: 24/09/2021
Time: 18h00 – 23h00
Localization: Les Quinconces, Le Mans

Artificial intelligence is present in our daily lives. These technologies are based on learning models from data, allowing machines to perform complex tasks. Come and discover with the LIUM Language and Speech Technology team, the journey of data through several AI developed in the laboratory (automatic recognition of objects from a webcam, automatic recognition of speech). This will be an opportunity to discuss with researchers while analyzing your voice.

 

Foreign language perception – Jane WOTTAWA
Learning foreign languages is not easy: not only grammar and vocabulary require effort, but also the perception of foreign sounds. Based on listening to different words, the presented experiment highlights the fact that perceiving the sounds of a foreign language is not as easy as in one’s native language since each language has its own sound system (vowels, consonants, prosody).

 

Who is talking and when? – Anthony LARCHER
One of LIUM’s specialties is being able to automatically determine who is speaking when from an audio signal recorded on a TV set, for example. The platform presented at the Researchers’ Night allows a human to correct the output of any automatic speaker segmentation and clustering system.

 

This is a pipe (or a girafe?) – Valentin PELLOIN , Thibault PROUTEAU, Martin LEBOURDAIS, Theo MARIOTTE and Thomas THEBAUD
How can an AI recognize the presence of a giraffe or a bus from a webcam? LIUM researchers deconstruct the AI myth, learning data and models used, in front of you, using an automatic object recognition system. Come and test for yourselves by choosing your own objects.

 

Speed Searching – Iza MARFISI

On Thursday 23rd, Saterday 25th and Sunday 26th of Spetember, come meet the French reserchers ! For your living room, discover their stories related to their travels, reserch and field work!
More information at: nuitdeschercheursfrance.eu/?2021#speedsearching

Le LIUM présent à la Nuit Européenne des Chercheur.e.s

Date: 24/09/2021
Heure: 18h00 – 23h00
Lieu: Les Quinconces
Information complémentaires et Programme complet ici
 

Les Intelligences Artificielles sont présentes au quotidien dans nos vies. Ce sont des technologies basées sur l’apprentissage de modèles à partir de données, permettant aux machines de réaliser des tâches complexes. Venez découvrir avec l’équipe Language and Speech Technology du LIUM, le voyage des données au travers de plusieurs IA développées au laboratoire (reconnaissance automatique d’objets à partir d’une webcam, reconnaissance automatique de parole). Ce sera l’occasion de discuter avec Marie, Jane, Anthony, Valentin, Thibault, Martin, Thomas, Théo et les autres, tout en analysant votre voix.

 

Perception d’une langue étrangère
Apprendre des langues étrangères n’est pas chose aisée: non seulement la grammaire et le vocabulaire nécessitent un effort, mais également la perception des sons étrangers. A partir de l’écoute de mots différents, l’expérience présentée met en évidence le fait que la perception des sons d’une langue étrangère n’est pas aussi facile que dans sa langue native puisque chaque langue a un système sonore (voyelles, consonnes, prosodie) propre.

 

Qui parle et quand ?
Une des spécialités du LIUM est de pouvoir déterminer automatiquement qui parle quand à partir d’un signal audio enregistré par exemple sur un plateau télé. La plateforme présenté lors de la Nuit des chercheurs permet à un humain de corriger la sortie de n’importe quel système automatique de segmentation et regroupement en locuteur.

 

Ceci est une pipe (ou une girafe ?)
Comment une IA peut-elle reconnaitre la présence d’une girafe ou d’un autobus à partir d’une webcam ? Des chercheurs du LIUM déconstruisent devant vous le mythe des IA, les données d’apprentissage et les modèles utilisés, à partir d’un système de reconnaissance automatique d’objets. Venez tester par vous-mêmes en choisissant votre propres objets.