PASTEL

Date: 10/2016 - 04/2020
Funding: ANR
Call: Interactions, Robotique, Contenus / Automatique, signal 2016
Partners: Orange Lab (France), cren (France), LS2N (France)
URL: https://projets-lium.univ-lemans.fr/pastel


PASTEL is a research project that aims to explore the potential of real time and automatic transcriptions for the instrumentation of mixed educational situations where the modalities of the interactions can be face-to-face or online, synchronous or asynchronous. The speech recognition technology approaches a maturity level that allows new opportunities of instrumentation in pedagogical practices and their new uses.

More specifically, we develop (1) a real-time transcription application, and (2) educational outreach applications based on the transcription system outputs. These results will be used to automatically generate the materials of a basic SPOC. A set of editing features will be implemented for the mentioned applications that will allow the teacher to adapt and customize these contents according to their needs. Then, the developed applications will be made available to public institutions for higher education and research, and will also be transferred to the industry through Orange or start-ups associated to he research laboratories involved in the project.

The major innovations of PASTEL cover the discourse structure from automatic transcriptions that are linked to its educational objectives. The innovation also features the challenging flow processing in real time, which is required when the discourse structure is being used in a face-to-face situation. The project also brings innovative solutions in terms of instrumentation, and diversification of pedagogical practices, as well as a new approach to design and structure online educational contents, based on the use of speech recognition technology.

Transcription Automatique de la Parole pour l'Apprentissage et la Formation (PASTEL)

Date : 10/2016 - 04/2020
Financement : ANR
Appel : Interactions, Robotique, Contenus / Automatique, signal 2016
Partenaires : Orange Lab (France), cren (France), LS2N (France)
URL : https://projets-lium.univ-lemans.fr/pastel


Le projet PASTEL a pour objectif d’explorer le potentiel de la transcription automatique en temps réel pour l’instrumentation de situations pédagogiques mixtes, où les modalités d’interaction sont présentielles ou à distance, synchrones ou asynchrones. Les technologies de reconnaissance de la parole approchent d’un niveau de maturité suffisant qui permet d’envisager de nouvelles possibilités au niveau de l’instrumentation des pratiques pédagogiques et générer de nouveaux usages.

Plus spécifiquement, nous développerons (1) une application de transcription temps réel et, sur la base des sorties du système de transcription, (2) des applications à vocation pédagogique. Nous utiliserons ces résultats pour générer automatiquement les matériaux d’un SPOC de base. Nous développerons un ensemble de fonctions d’édition qui permettront à l’enseignant d’adapter et de personnaliser ces contenus selon ses besoins. Les modules développés seront mis à la disposition des établissements publics pour l’enseignement supérieur et la recherche, et pourront également être transférés vers l’industrie à travers Orange ou des starts-ups liées aux laboratoires de recherche impliqués dans PASTEL.

Les nouveautés majeures portées par le projet dans le domaine de la structuration du discours à partir de transcriptions automatiques sont liées aux objectifs pédagogiques de cette structuration, ainsi qu’au traitement en flux et en temps réel qu’exige une utilisation en présentiel. Dans ce cadre, PASTEL apportera également de nouvelles solutions d’instrumentation pour la diversification des pratiques pédagogiques et une nouvelle approche de conception et de structuration de contenus pédagogiques en ligne, basée sur l’exploitation des techniques de reconnaissance de la parole.